top of page

Road report


To conclude this blog, I would like to thank John for bearing with me on this trip. I know that I was a wuss, needing to stop so many times to massage my derriere and smoke a cigarette, but he never said a word. I would also like to thank my friends in Albuquerque who made our time there so memorable. I learned a lot about long-distance bike rides that can only be learned by actually doing the ride:

1. Never go on an Ironbutt ride without a good friend

2. Take the necessary clothing for cold weather riding, even if you don't think you will need it. On our way back we wore virtually every piece of gear we had with us.

3. Take more money than you thing you will need

4. Always have enough change to pay the exact amount for tolls

5. Rest often and don't forget to enjoy the scenery and the feeling of freedom. remember that this is what riding is about.

6. Safety comes first and there is never a need to ignore that fact.

Now, we will submit our paperwork to the Iron Butt Association for certification, and whether they certify the ride or not, at least we know that we made the ride and it was a time to remember. I recommend that everyone who has the desire to ride do at least one long distance ride with a good friend. It is something I will never forget and I hope to do it again next year. Stay safe.


bottom of page