top of page

Getting ready for the Pig Trail expedition

Well, I've been in the office way too long without a bike break. That changes later this week when John, myself and the newest addition to our lunatic club, my brother Jesse, take off to ride the mountain roads of Arkansas. Our plan is fairly detailed: ride south until we reach an area where they address their cousin as "the Missus" and then start looking on the map for the road with the most curves per mile that we can find. Along the way the goal will be to ride the "Pig Trail" which is the Midwest's answer to "Tail of the Dragon" and is reputed to be one heck of a bike ride. Since we spend way more on our bikes than we should, we will most likely forego the luxuries of hotel stays and showers (and toilets with real toilet paper) and instead will be pitching out tents where ever we can get away with it. The minor details of such things as where to eat, which road to go to next, and what to see while down there, will be figured out once we get there. It took me almost a week to get the details of the plan to this point and I am sure my fellow riders will be thoroughly impressed with my logistical talents. They may not say so, but I'll be able to see it in their eyes, I'm sure.

I have set the departure timer, and will have the Map page set up before we take off so anyone interested will be able to follow along. I sincerely hope I can add some nice photos of what promises to be a beautiful ride, so stay tuned.


bottom of page