top of page

Day 3: time to head home


I had finally managed to get into a fitful state of slumber when I was awoken by a violent shaking of my tent. I was not a happy camper at that point, and had some choice words for whichever of my companions had so interrupted my short sleep. Came to find out that what had shook the tent was actually an earthquake that had occurred around Oklahoma City and was felt in no less than 7 states. Last I heard it was a 5.6 magnitude, and I have a greater respect for those Californians that experience such events regularly. At any rate, I was now awake and there was no hope of getting back to sleep so we all discussed the itinerary for the day. It was determined that I was in no condition to lead the group on any rides today, and I was not going to disagree with that assessment. I told the guys they didn't need to cut their vacation short, but I was going to head back home. To their great credit, neither one of them would let me go back alone and so we packed up and began our 500 mile trip back home. Yes, we hit the Harley dealership and Golden Corral again, but we still made pretty good time. I was home by about 9:30 pm or so and by 11:00 pm I was at the hospital waiting on the xrays to come back. Thereafter it was the standard litany of "the only treatment for cracked and dislocated ribs is pain management" and "here's some pain pills, and try not to cough or sneeze". By the way, that is a lot easier said than done.

As I sit here now in my pain-dulled stupor, waiting for the latest intake of hydrocodone to kick in, I am able to reflect on the trip with a little more perspective. Firstly, I want to thank my companions, John and Jesse for all they did for me on the trip. They are the best guys to go down the road with, bar none. Next I think that the trip, even with my clumsiness, was a rousing success. We managed to get well over 1000 miles in on some of the most picturesque back roads I have ever seen, had a good time with great camaraderie, and it was far from boring. All in all, it was a great time and one I'll never forget.


bottom of page